Food for the gods recipe

photogrid_1482878715105
Ingredients for Food for the gods

My Mom used to make this dessert occasionally during the Christmas season and I was craving them this year and it’s been a long time since my Mom made it so I asked my Mom for the recipe. This is a very rich dessert, so take note if you plan to make this.

There have been may requests for me to put up this recipe, and so here it is. And I had some gluten free flour, so I wanted to test it out in this recipe

Ingredients:

1 c. All purpose flour (used Cup4cup Gluten-free flour)

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

2 eggs

1 1/2 c. brown sugar

1 c. unsalted butter, melted

1 c. coarsely chopped walnuts

1 c. coarsely chopped Medjool dates

Directions:

Preheat oven to 300 F. Grease a 13 x 9x 2 inch pan and set aside.  In this case, I used silicone molds.  I did not have to grease them.

photogrid_1482878613679
Coarsely chop dates

Coarsely chop the walnuts, and dates.

photogrid_1482878507409
Used a food processor. Be careful to only pulse the as to not grind them too much. You want them to look like the far right. Coarsely chopped.

Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl.

photogrid_1482878400458

Beat eggs lightly in a separate bowl.

photogrid_1482878300989

Add sugar, butter, nuts, and dates.

photogrid_1482878212743

Fold in flour.

photogrid_1482878130572

Spread mixture on the greased pan (silicone molds).

photogrid_1482877933977
If using silicone molds, use a baking sheet tray underneath.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. (If baked in a greased baking dish).  Using smaller silicone molds, I baked them for approximately 20 minutes, until I saw that the center was dry and toothpick inserted in the center came out clean.  Unmold them from their respective mold/pan and then cut into bars (if using a pan).

photogrid_1482877787697

These hold up pretty long in the refrigerator, but they are so good, they probably won’t last long. Especially, in my “sweet-toothed” family.  I hope you enjoy these as much as I did.

** I received the Cup4cup gluten free flour as a sample for my honest review from Social Nature and I got to say, I was impressed with it.  I don’t think anyone noticed that it was gluten free.  I would definitely purchase this in the future if I need a gluten free flour for my baking.

One thought on “Food for the gods recipe

Leave a Reply

